Text Size:
  • A
  • A
  • A

2015 To Be a Patriot Awards

"To Be A Patriot" Award

Established in 1985, the “To Be A Patriot” Award annually recognizes the three best patriotic programs conducted by Fourth Degree Assemblies each fraternal year.
Entries are judged at the district, province and international level.

The 2014-2015 “To Be A Patriot” award winners are:

Father Nicholas Schneider Assembly 3188, Franklin, Ohio: Honor Veterans at Blackford Senior Living
The members of Father Schneider Assembly honored 17 veterans at the Blackford Senior Living Center with a special Veterans Day event. Knights interviewed the veterans one by one to gather their stories of service, which were then shared during the program in recognition of their work and sacrifice. The veterans were also presented with a personalized cap and certificate of appreciation.

Father Joseph T. O’Callahan Assembly 3441, Johns Creek, Georgia: Veterans Memorial Walk
Father Joseph T. O’Callahan Assembly created the Memorial Walk as a meditative memorial to veterans. Showcasing plaques that commemorate those who served in World War I, World War II, Korea, Vietnam, the Gulf War, Iraq and Afghanistan, the walk also honors Women in Service, Prisoners of War, those Missing in Action and Purple Heart recipients. The walk offers a peaceful and inspiring place to remember these men and women who have served our country.

Our Lady of the Americas Assembly 3123, Bothell, Washington: Support “Heartbeat - Serving Wounded Warriors”
Our Lady of the Americas Assembly partnered with the non-profit group “Heartbeat - Serving Wounded Warriors” to conduct several programs in support of wounded warriors throughout the 2014- 2015 fraternal year. The services the Knights provided were an ongoing and meaningful presence in the lives of the veterans. Knights assisted with activities ranging from Christmas events (Giving Tree, production of stockings and a Christmas party) to making a float for the Fourth of July parade, to conducting fundraisers and presenting Patriotic Service awards.