Supreme Officer Biographies

Biographies and print-quality photos of Knights of Columbus officers. Please contact someone in our communications department to secure permission to use one of these photographs. Upon approval, all photos used should be labeled “Courtesy of the Knights of Columbus.”

Carl A. Anderson
As supreme knight of the Knights of Columbus, Carl A. Anderson is the chief executive officer and chairman of the board of the world’s largest Catholic family fraternal service organization, which has more than 1.9 million members. He was elected supreme knight in 2000, and earlier served as supreme secretary and state deputy of the District of Columbia.
Archbishop William E. Lori, S.T.D.
As supreme chaplain of the Knights of Columbus, Archbishop William E. Lori has the responsibility of overseeing the spiritual welfare of the Order's 1.9 million members and their families. He was elected supreme chaplain in 2005.
Logan T. LudwigLogan T. Ludwig
Logan T. Ludwig serves as deputy supreme knight of the Knights of Columbus. He has previously served the Order as supreme treasurer, and as state deputy of Illinois (2003-2004).
Charles E. Maurer Jr.Charles E. Maurer Jr.
As supreme secretary of the Knights of Columbus, Charles E. Maurer Jr. oversees a variety of administrative departments at the Supreme Council office. He has been a member of the Knights of Columbus Board of Directors for 10 years, and served as state deputy of Indiana (1996-98).
Mike O'ConnorMichael J. O'Connor
Michael J. O'Connor serves as the supreme treasurer of the Knights of Columbus. He has previously served the Order as assistant supreme advocate, and as state deputy of Pennsylvania (2006-2008).

John A. Marrella
John A. Marrella is the Supreme Advocate and General Counsel of the Knights of Columbus. A graduate of Amherst College and Harvard Law School, John spent most of his legal career as a federal prosecutor, serving in the United States Department of Justice for more than 17 years. He was an Assistant U.S. Attorney in Connecticut and concluded his government service at the Department of Justice in Washington, D.C., as Deputy Assistant Attorney General in the Tax Division. He is a member of Council 10705 in New Haven.